James Bain is a man I’d like to meet.

Meeting 54-year-old James Bain, the one thing that stands out is that the smile never seems to leave his face. He appears happy and positive, and the bitterness that might be buried inside a man who was wrongly sent to prison for 35 years is nowhere to be found.

“I kind of see myself as a man of God and being like Joseph,” he said.

“In a sense, I feel like a bear, coming out of hibernation. Like, they come out to eat, mine would be coming out to enjoy what I have missed.”

Bain has missed a lot. His life was returned to him and his family in December, when a Florida judge freed him after DNA testing proved he did not kidnap and rape a 9-year-old boy in 1974 in Lake Wales, Florida.

I cannot fully understand James Bain’s remarkable grace.

A good materialist would say that his attitude is helped by the fact that he’s about to get $1.75 million from the State of Florida ($50,000 per year of wrongful imprisonment).  But that neither seems adequate compensation, nor explains his lack of bitterness.

via Man wrongfully imprisoned for decades happy to start relearning life – CNN.com.

